Joshua 12

Territory East of the Jordan

1The Israelites struck down the following kings of the land and took possession of their land beyond the Jordan to the east and from the Arnon Valley to Mount Hermon, including all the
Arabah: The section of the Great Rift in Palestine, extending from the Jordan Valley and the Dead Sea to the Gulf of Aqabah. The Hebrew word can also be translated as "plain," referring to any plain or to any part of the Arabah.
Arabah eastward: b

2 Sihon king of the Amorites lived in Heshbon. He ruled over the territory from Aroer c on the rim of the Arnon Valley, along the middle of the valley, and half of Gilead up to the Jabbok River (the border of the Ammonites d), 3the Arabah east of the Sea of Chinnereth
= the Sea of Galilee
to the Sea of the Arabah (that is, the Dead Sea), eastward through Beth-jeshimoth f and southward
Or and from Teman
below the slopes of Pisgah. h

4 Og
LXX; MT reads The territory of Og
king of Bashan, of the remnant of the Rephaim, lived in Ashtaroth and Edrei. j
5He ruled over Mount Hermon, Salecah, all Bashan up to the Geshurite and Maacathite border, and half of Gilead to the border of Sihon, king of Heshbon. k
6 Moses the Lord’s servant l and the Israelites struck them m down. And Moses the Lord’s servant gave their land as an inheritance to the Reubenites, Gadites, and half the tribe of Manasseh. n

Territory West of the Jordan

7 Joshua and the Israelites struck down the following kings of the land beyond the Jordan to the west, from Baal-gad in the Valley of Lebanon to Mount Halak o which ascends toward Seir (Joshua gave their land as an inheritance to the tribes of Israel according to their allotments: 8the hill country, the Judean foothills,
Or the Shephelah
the Arabah, the slopes, the desert, and the
Negev: An >arid region in the southern part of Israel; the Hebrew word means "south".
Negev of the Hittites, Amorites, Canaanites, Perizzites, Hivites, and Jebusites):

the king of Jericho rone
the king of Ai, s which is next to Bethelone
(10) the king of Jerusalem tone
the king of Hebronone
(11) the king of Jarmuthone
the king of Lachishone
(12) the king of Eglonone
the king of Gezerone
(13) the king of Debirone
the king of Gederone
(14) the king of Hormahone
the king of Aradone
(15) the king of Libnahone
the king of Adullamone
(16) the king of Makkedahone
the king of Bethelone
(17) the king of Tappuahone
the king of Hepherone
(18) the king of Aphekone
the king of Lasharonone
(19) the king of Madonone
the king of Hazorone
(20) the king of Shimron-meronone
the king of Achshaphone
(21) the king of Taanachone
the king of Megiddoone
(22) the king of Kedeshone
the king of Jokneam in Carmelone
(23) the king of Dor in Naphath-dor
Or in the Slopes of Dor
the king of Goiim in Gilgal
LXX reads Galilee
(24) the king of Tirzahone
the total number of all kings:31.

Copyright information for HCSB